Steven cycling the world

Rest!

After cycling for 9 days straight (not counting the day that I left Portland by car and rode 20 miles), I've reached Missoula, Montana! I decided to go for luxury and stay in a motel for 4 nights (shower + real bed!), to get some rest and experience 4th of July. The weather isa littleunstable at the moment, low clouds and afternoon thunderstorms. Riding into Missoula I could see lightning hit the mountains, pretty amazing.

It's funny to see how events have turned out. The other day I met a couple who offered me a beer (which, by the way, everyone does). They live close to Denver, and invited me to stay with them when I arrive there and they'll make sure I get to the airport safely!

I ran into two Aussies who were also headed for Missoula. We rode together for about 20 miles, whensuddenly my left SPD plate (that's the thing I click onto my pedal so my feet are mounted) came loose. For some reason, one screw was completely gone. The Aussies carried a spare screw just for this situation and gave it to me. Luck keeps helping me out!

Facts about my trip so far:

Distance covered 822km/510mi

Time cycled 39h52m

Highest altitude 1595m/5235ft (Lolo Pass)

Maximum speed 78.5kmh/48.7mph

Wildlife count: Dozens of squirrels,two skunks, a moose, two deer, lots of dead animals on the road. Wasn't able to get a picture of the moose :(

Dutch people seen: 1

Cross-country cyclists seen: 13

Driest night: Wilderness Gateway Camp Ground, Idaho. The water pump broke down.

Wettest night: Camping in Kooskia's City Park, Idaho. The sprinklers go off at night.

Hottest day: 100F/38C in the shades at Lochsa Historical Ranger Station, Idaho

Friendliest town: Pomeroy, Washington (as the welcome sign stated)

Times ID'd when ordering alcoholic drink: 0 since I left Portland

Reacties

Reacties

Jeroen

And how often did you order an alcoholic drink since you left Portland?!

Sounds you got everything under control, a lot more than mom&dad that is. They left today, but returned after an hour finding out they forgot their sleeping-bags. Silly people, guess they are getting old. Anyway, still enjoying every bit of your journey? I hope you can stand the heat, as you've never really liked it. Keep us in touch!

Love, your brother

judy

hi steven. we're home now and i have a nice photo of you next to your bike, talking w/ matt (my son) near white dome in yellowstone. if you'd like to have me send it to you, or to your family, contact me @ judyshubin@aol.com.

good luck from judy, rick and matt of california!

Tante Evelyn

Hallo Steven,
Wij zijn juist terug van een vacantie in Yosemite met al de kinderen en kleinkinderen en ik ben benieuwd hoe je het maakt. Laat weer eens van je horen. Het is maar goed dat je niet in Californie bent, de lucht is niet al te best met al de branden hier. Tante Evelyn

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!