Steven cycling the world

Bad luck at the right place

I had my first puncture ever with this bike! Unfortunately, it would continue to bother me for a few more days. After patching my tube, I was fine for two days, but when I left de camp ground the next morning, there was no air in my rear tire. Fixed it again, within 5 minutes it was flat. That made me change my whole tube, so I rode the 10 miles to Lewiston just fine. When pulling up the bike path, once again I heard the annoying noise that I'd heard before that morning.

For some reason this happened in the only city that has bike shops in a 200 mile span, so I took it as a sign and bought new tubes and patches, as the old ones were obviously no good.

After the four hour hold-up I decided to not go up the hills, but take the easier and shorter route along the river. There I stayed at a camp ground where I met a 79 year old man who had travelled all around the States and Europe. He told me more stories than I could ever remember, and gave me maps of Montana, Wyoming and Colorado, along with advise of what routes to take.

When I tried to pressurize my fuel bottle, I found out I couldn't get any air in. I had it filled that day, and it turned out it was filled up to the very top. After pouring out some gas, it seemed that I had somehow broken the pump. As it was already late, I decided to leave it be and ate bread with brie instead of rice with sweet peas.

The next morning I suddenly knew what was wrong with the pump, and with the tools and analysis of my neighbour's we managed to get it working again.

Funny thing is, that just before I got my tire trouble in Lewiston, I had filled out a survey which had statements like 'I always find a solution to unforeseen problems'. I said 'true'. Guess I was right.

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!