Steven cycling the world

Hazardous threats on the freeway

One ride to the airport, 22 hours of flying, two stop-overs, one ride to my family's. What would be the most likely place things can go wrong?

'Security is very heavy,' everybody warned me. So when I was pulled over to open my carry-on ('just food?') in London and the guy noticed I'm from the Netherlands, we started chatting about the European Championships. My stove and fuel bottle arrived just fine.

'You should be really careful in Chicago when youtake your baggage, people can rob you when you're on your own with all that stuff,' my parents warned me. So when I had cleared customs, picked up my bag and bike and slid my way through narrow doors, all my baggage was taken care of within 5 minutes.

After 28 hours of being awake, I managed to land in Portland, meet with Karen, get my baggage, and walk outside to be driven home by neighbour Sid. Everyone knows Americans think big, bigger, biggest when it comes to cars, but Sid is the kind of guy who realises that you don't need a big car, so he brought his reasonably sized vehicle that pulled his reasonably sized trailer. Of course the bike box just didn't fit in the trailer, so (thinking I'm at the other side of the world so I need to do the opposite here) I layed it in the trailer, nose up, tail down.

45 minutes later. Sid's worried someone was hurt when the box was blown out of the trailer and landed on the ground, Karen's feeling bad about looking back and not noticing the bike wasn't there, and I'm calling my bike insurance who can't seem to understand the time difference ('as I said, I can't report this to the police at 2am') and distance ('mailing the official police report to Holland will take days') between the Netherlands and the States. After backtracking and no trace of (part of) a bike box, the three of us went to sleep.

9am next morning. Karen's called a bunch of numbers, I've reported my missing bike at the police, and we'll be called when anything has been found.

1pm. I'm just about to announce my situation to my travel insurance. Karen's phone rings. 'Oh my god, you found the bike?!' (Alina falls down the toilet) Someone called in the night before that there was a hazardous threat on the freeway, and the police went to pick it up.

Sid and Iretrieved a bike that, after 4 flights, three with renowned airlines and one out of own will, had a tiny scratch on the seat and a slightly bent handle bar. We tied it down. Twice.

What exactly happened, will always remain a mystery. If you're the one who called in my bike, leave your address and we will reward you. For days on end.

By the way, Oregon's great.

Reacties

Reacties

Wouter

Snotneus! Ik vond het verhaal zo bizar toen Jeroen het vertelde dat ik het niet eens geloofde:) Mooi dat je voer/vliegtuig weer veilig de tijdelijke thuishaven heeft weten te bereiken. And hey, look on the bright side, next time you're visiting the US after a year of hard work at McD and you arrive in Portland after fricking 22 hours and you get picked up by the Karen's neighbour, you now know you've got to tie things up twice apparently;)

Oh en laten de dames je een beetje heel?;)

Esther Senden

Hé Steven,
I totally agree with your big brother: too weird to be true! But: good to hear that there's not too much damage on your bike. Hope the rest of your trip will be without misfortunes. Good luck and lots of fun!
Love from all of us back here in Barendrecht who envy your courage. XXX

Jeroen

You made us worry there for a while, but thank god everything is fine again :)
The photographs look great too! I was joking with mom you should stay there, so we have another reason to visit the US haha. Have great fun there, and I hope you will even cycle (as you don't have a side-span for all the girls).

Much love from home. Your little brother

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!