Steven cycling the world

The highest restroom in North America

After 5 weeks of cycling, I've finally reached Nederland! Nederland, Colorado that is. The only Nederland that won't flood when the water level rises.

I've managed to achieve my ultimate goal: riding the highest highway in North America. Exhausting as it was, I rode up and up and up, looking for the sign that says I'm at the highest elevation of the road. Trees started to disappear, the sign for me that the altitude finally started to affect my performance. Climbing the road, which was finally narrow enough with no barrier at the sides to be called 'a little scary', I finally found myself going down. Wait, did I just miss THE sign of my trip?

Apparently not, after asking around for a bit. There appeared to be no sign at all. Was this whole mission wasted? No, I got myself a picture of me standing in front of the highest restroom in North America. Fair enough.

With just one more day of cycling to go, and having reached this 'home away from home' (Nederland should have been my final destination!), it feels a little weird to not be making progress anymore every day, finding myself as cheap a spot as possible, meeting other cyclists on the road and sharing experiences, and looking forward to the next challenge. Although there is going to be a challenge: getting back to the real Nederland and trying to survive living at sea level again!

There's one thing I'm looking forward to: Dutch food!

Reacties

Reacties

Geert W. Spelde

lieve Steven, ik kan me echt in je verplaatsen als je zegt dat je naar Nederlands eten verlangt, een harinkie, een gebakken visje of heel gewoon snert. Heb nog goeie dagen daar in Colorado/Denver. Mooi dat je daar mensen kent die je naar het vliegveld willen brengen.
liefs van opa/oma

jan zw1s

Het is gelukt! Verwondert me niks, maar toch alle hulde en ik hoor er t.g.t. graag meer over

Tante Evelyn

Have a good trip home. Enjoy the nice weather in Denver while you are there.

Esther

Wat een prestatie. Proficiat!
De waanzinnige ervaringen die je hebt opgedaan: dat wordt afkicken in dit kikkerlandje.
Bedankt dat je ons allen hebt laten meegenieten.
Goede reis naar home sweet home.
Dikke knuffel,
Ruud, Esther & Yvonne

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!